There are few prestigious awards giving every year by International Youth Committee to promote the situation of the young people living across the globe:


World Youth Prize is giving every year for Excellence in Development Work. These awards recognize inspiring young people whose development work has had a significant impact on people and communities in their country or region.

We are looking for young people aged 15 to 29 years, whose development work demonstrates the World Program for Actions of Youth (WPAY) of the United Nations, to:

  • Promote youth participation in decision making
  •  Promote economic empowerment of young people


  • Take action for equality between young women and young men
  • Promote peaceful and democratic environment in which human rights flourish
  • Provide quality education for all
  • Improve access to information and communication technology
  • Promote health, development and values through sport and culture
  • Engage young people to protect the environment.






Criteria for nomination

Individuals are able to nominate themselves or can be nominated by someone who is able to vouch for the legitimacy of the nominee’s development work. The nominee must meet the following criteria:

The nominee must have been engaged in their development work for more than 12 months either in a professional or voluntary capacity.
The nominee must be from United Nations Member country only.
The development work must be ongoing and in a member country.
The nominee should not be older than 29  years of age.
Nominees should give permission for their names to be put forward (if nominated by someone else).
Award winners and finalists must agree to take part in publicity and activities generated by the IYC.
The development work can be within any number of areas, including agriculture, skills training, arts and culture, environment protection, education, health and well-being, human rights, information and communications technology, journalism and many more areas including sport, science and sustainability.

Nomination Process:

Applications open generally open by December every year and close 30 June next year. Complete the online nomination form to submit a nomination.

You will be required to provide:

  • Details about yourself
  • Details about the person you are nominating (if nominating someone)
  • The reasons you think the nominee (or you, if you are nominating yourself) deserve to win.
  • A description of the development work and how it makes a positive difference to the lives of others.

Awards will be decided on the basis of:

  • Quality of impact
  • Level of innovation/fresh approaches to problem-solving
  • Quality of achievement
  • Quality of the evidence provided
  • Sustainability: building capacity of future generations to meet their own needs.

The finalists will receive a 1,000$ grant, a sustainable development project of 5000$, a trophy and a certificate. The overall Youth award winner, or World Young Person of the Year, will receive 5,000$ in total, a sustainable development project of 10,000$, a trophy and a certificate. The 10 finalists will be invited to receive their awards at the official closing ceremony of World Youth Conference.


The Awards were given to global youths based on six criteria—qualification, experience, skill, publication/network, contribution and vision clarity. Till 2015, it was given only in one category. In 2016, IYC Board has decided to recommend the award in 10 different nomination categories:


  • Advocacy & Empowerment
  • Education
  • Environment
  • Health
  • Livelihood, Skill Development, Entrepreneurship & Employability
  • Technology for Development
  • Women Empowerment
  • Youth Development & Empowerment
  • Culture & Heritage
  • Social, Gender & Financial Inclusion

Rakibul Hasan from Bangladesh (2014) and Mcleo Mapfumo from Zimbabwe (2015) had won so far this prestigious award. The Award consists of a bronze Memento, a Certificate and a Shawl. It is distribute on the closing day of World Youth Conference every year.


The award is giving in the name of a deer called “sangai” which is an endemic, rare and endangered subspecies of brow-antlered deer found only in ManipurIndia. It is also state animal of Manipur. Its common English name is Manipur brow-antlered deer and the scientific name, Rucervus eldii eldii  McClelland. It lives in the marshy wetland in Keibul Lamjao about 45 km from Imphal. Its habitat is located in the southern parts of the Loktak Lake, which is the largest freshwater lake in eastern India. It is also one of the seven Ramsar sites of international importance. The habitat of the sangai is now protected as the Keibul Lamjao National Park, the only floating National Park in the world. The sangai is also the state animal of Manipur.


This award is instituted in the year 2016 and will be given specially to all the the selected delegates of World Youth Conference as a part of encouragement to take part in protecting the various endangered species found in their states, regions or countries. It carries a Brass Sangai Memento, a certificate and a Shawl.